Why I decided to be an Entrepreneur

  • By: Mike Pronovost – Owner, Powerband Internet Corporation

From a young age I liked to question the status quo. I remember sitting in a classroom and being told that you should wait until after you graduate from college before you should start working or thinking about starting a business.

At times, people tried to stress the importance of a reliable desk job so later in life you can retire comfortably. When I talked about being an entrepreneur, they said it’s risky, probably won’t work and it’s only for a very “lucky” few that happen to be in the right place at the right time.

It didn’t make sense to me that we spend a quarter of our life thinking about a career, and then half of our lives working to hopefully make it to that “dream job” in a 9-5 corporate environment.  The idea frustrated me because I had a lot of ideas I wanted to bring to the world but I didn’t want to wait until my 50’s and 60’s to introduce those ideas to the world or to do what I really wanted to do.

So, my dream started when I was 16-years-old and began a business out of my bedroom. Now, my business has taken me from that bedroom to Forbes Magazine, where I was named one of the top entrepreneurs under the age of 30, and to the White House multiple times. If I would have listened to others and waited until I was in that high level corporate job, I wouldn’t have put together a startup which brought broadband to rural areas of the U.S. (Powerband).

My realization was that it’s important to stress that entrepreneurship is a viable career path. Not only is it achievable, it’s important to point out that the people on that 30-under-30 list, and the people on the cover of Forbes, are not so different than you and I. As a matter of fact, now that I know many of them on a personal level, I know them to be just like us. They simply had an idea they wanted to share with the world.

The world is desperately looking for answers; we need entrepreneurs to solve those problems. You may have that answer and we’re all cheering you to bring that to market and enhance the lives of others.

You will be surprised where it’ll take you; I know I never saw myself receiving two awards at the White House by the age of 24.

Leave a Reply

