An update on Leadership Fresno

  • By: Christa Short, Executive Director of Terry’s House and Chair of Leadership Fresno Steering Committee

 

I’d like to start this column by introducing myself; my name is Christa Short and I graduated from Leadership Fresno with Class 27 (the Best class ever). Upon completion of my time as a class member, I joined the Steering Committee and now am thoroughly looking forward to stepping up into the role of Chair for 2013-2014!

As a graduate of Class 27, I’ve remained involved in the program because I believe in its ability to teach, inspire and engage the diverse leaders of our community in order to create positive change for our city. While we approach 30 years of Leadership Fresno success, I’d like to applaud those who had the vision and passion to create this program in 1984.

Each year, the Steering Committee is dedicated to creating an enriching program that allows class members to broaden their horizons, utilize skills and talents for the good of this community, all while building long-lasting relationships with their classmates. We work to design specifically targeted class days that are jam-packed with opportunities for community leaders to experience Fresno in a different way. Through panel discussions, tours and unique hands-on experiences, participants are exposed to various aspects of both the public and private sectors. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, class members are presented with numerous opportunities to get and stay involved.

I know I speak for our committee and alumni when I say we are all very excited to welcome the members of Class 30! To kick things off with a bang, the Steering Committee, along with the Fresno Chamber, will host a welcome reception and orientation for new class members in early August. At this time, class members will meet each other for the first time and get a preview of the robust and challenging year ahead.

Please join me in welcoming them to the program. I encourage you to follow this year’s success and stay connected to Leadership Fresno by visiting the Leadership Fresno Alumni Association website.

Big things are on the horizon and we’re looking forward to broadcasting the successes of our newest class with you along the way! Throughout this year, I will be sharing updates on what this fantastic group is doing, as well as keeping everyone posted on all of the exciting event’s Leadership Fresno has going on. We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event soon.

Sincerely,

Christa Short

 

Leave a Reply

