Resolutions, Shmesolutions

  • By: Chamber Chairman of the Board, Scott Miller – Gazebo Gardens

It’s the time of year for all of us to start planning our New Year’s resolutions.  We can all go buy new gym memberships, Bowflex machines and bikes.  We’ll stock our kitchens only with fresh vegetables and low fat, low sodium, gluten free rice cakes.  Throw all the tequila, ouzo and cigarettes in the garbage. Everyone will stop cussing, start going to church and generally be better and happier. Because there’s something magical about January first, right?

At least the United States government seems to think so.  Here’s a fun fact – Our federal government has a page to help people make and keep New Year’s resolutions: http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/New-Years-Resolutions.shtml. It contains links to info about proper diet, recycling, lowering stress, saving money, etc.  I think you’ll be as relieved as I was that the government is there to help us lie to ourselves properly on the first day of the year.  It’s the kind of thing that makes you want to pay extra taxes.

New Year’s resolutions? Poppycock!

I think I just resolved to use the word ‘poppycock’ more often in 2013.  But that’s it.  OK, I’d also resolve to be the chairman of the Chamber for another year if I could.  Alas, that’s not to be.  You can only serve one year in “The Big Chair”. 

I’d be crazy not to wish for another year of this. As you can imagine, I’ve attended a staggering number of catered breakfasts, lunches and dinners.  I’ve spent more time in the Chamber building than anyone who is not actually paid to be there.  I’ve been introduced as Steve Miller. (Really, Al?)  And let me tell you, there are few things in life more rewarding than a Chamber finance committee meeting.  Jealous yet?

Actually, my year as chairman of this fine Chamber of Commerce has gone by faster than I can believe.  I have had the great privilege of engaging with this community in a way that most people will never get the chance to. I’ve also been part of an amazing team of people who work hard every day to improve our region. Our CEO, Al Smith, often describes the Fresno Chamber of Commerce as a ‘Traffic Cop’ at the center of many comings and goings, helping us all reach our goals.  That certainly fits my experience this year- issues, elections, meetings, advocacy, there is a lot to keep up with at the Chamber.  Honestly, I’ve done my level best to represent this organization and our local business community well.  I’ve had a great time and I wouldn’t trade a minute of it.

So what’s the point of this tongue-in-cheek ramble? If there were one, it would be this: Life is short.  If something is important, don’t wait until January first, or your birthday, or tax day, or Valentine’s Day.  Do it today.

So I won’t wait until New Year’s eve to commit to staying active at the Chamber.  I’ll do it right now, and I hope you’ll join me.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

