Chamber Holds News Conference to Announce Agriculturalist of the Year and Baker, Peterson & Franklin, CPA, LLP Ag Business Award Winners

The Fresno Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce two distinguished individuals as the co-winners of the 2012 Agriculturalists of the Year award:  the late Vernal A. Amaro and Debbie Jacobsen.   This distinguished award is given annually to individuals who exemplify leadership and integrity in the Central Valley’s agricultural business community. This year’s Presenting Sponsor for the Ag Awards is Lyons, with Gar Tootelian as the Associating Sponsor. 

While Mr. Amaro and Mrs. Jacobsen have very different histories, both have been recognized for their leadership in the agriculture business community, conducting themselves with true integrity and reliability throughout their careers.  These impressive individuals will join other distinguished past recipients of the Agriculturalist of the Year Award which include Jon Marthedal, John Gebhard, Ken Billings, Bill Allison, Ron Goble, Cosmo Insalaco, Bob Sheesley, A.J. Yates, Irwin Efird, Dr. Charles Smallwood, Harry Kubo, Don Laub, Bill Hambleton, Shawn Stevenson, C.W. “Bill” Jones, Bruce J. Obbink, Jack Woolf, Vincent Petrucci, William McFarlane, Deran Koligian, Jack Stone, Paul Bettancourt, Carol Chandler, Vernon Conrad, Pat Ricchuiti, Nat DiBuduo, Sarkis Sarabian, Jerry Prieto, Fred Machado and Marvin A. Meyers.

In conjunction with the Chamber’s award, Baker, Peterson & Franklin, Certified Public Accountants has announced the 2012 Baker, Peterson & Franklin Ag Business Award recipient, Sun-Maid Growers of California.  This annual award is given to an agricultural organization whose achievements and impact have significantly contributed to the industry and the local community. 

According to Chamber President and CEO, Al Smith, “Our area has been blessed with great soil and adequate water.  However, human character and ingenuity is what has transformed us into the breadbasket of the world! At the 2012 Ag Awards, we have the opportunity to salute some of the innovators who have made significant contributions to bring us to that position.”

Mr. Amaro, Mrs. Jacobsen and Sun-Maid Growers of California will be honored at an Ag Awards Luncheon with the 2012 Baker, Peterson & Franklin Ag Business Award recipient, on Wednesday, November 14, 2012, at Tornino’s. Seating beginning at roughly 12:00.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s